Tennis’ next Grand Slam, the Australian Open, will be live from Melbourne from Monday 18 January to Sunday 31 January 2016.

The women’s semi-finals will be contested on Thursday 28 January, with the men’s semi-finals following on Friday 29 January. Similarly, the women’s final will be played on Saturday 30 January, with the men’s winner to be decided on Sunday 31 January.

The upcoming edition of the ‘Happy Slam’ will see whether Novak Djokovic can defend his title – thus keeping up his insane 2015 dominance – whilst defending champion on the WTA side, Serena Williams, will be looking to bounce back after falling one major short of the 2015 Calendar Slam.

Other noteworthy stories are the continuing comeback of Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer’s ageless supremacy, Victoria Azarenka’s gradual resurgence and 2014 champion Stan Wawrinka’s unpredictability.

Of the aforementioned players, at least three – Novak Djokovic, Victoria Azarenka and Stan Wawrinka – can attribute Melbourne as the stage on which they first achieved truly elite status. For as long as they return, there will be fireworks.

In other intriguing storylines, 35-year-old Venus Williams – a 2015 quarter-finalist in Oz – will look to take her rediscovered top form into the new season, and Garbine Muguruza will continue to push her way towards the highest heights of the game. Simona Halep resumes her search for that elusive major trophy, and Lleyton Hewitt – Australia’s hero – will compete at his home tournament for one last time.

You don’t want to miss a moment of the action. And if you know the dates, then you have no excuses.

Monday 18 January to Sunday 31 January. It’s the 2016 Australian Open. Don’t miss it!


Aussie women champions at the Australian Open.

The first Grand Slam of the year is just around the corner, and we’re taking a look at some of the Aussie champions in the women’s championship for the Australian Open. The late 1960s and 1970s were the golden era for Australian tennis, for male and f

  • in

Australian champions at the Australian Open.

The first Grand Slam of the year is just around the corner, and with the success of new Aussie on the block Nick Kyrgios, it’s time to take a look at Aussie greats. After the Australian Championships entered the Open Era, home grown stars shone from 196

  • in

Australian Open – Best men’s finals. takes a look at some of the greatest men’s singles finals in the past twenty years of the Australian Open. You can watch and bet on the Australian Open live for free at bet365 > live streaming 2012 – Novak Djokovic

  • in

British players at the Australian Open – Winners and Almost Theres.

There can be no denying that for the first Slam of the year, hopes are resting high with Andy Murray, who will be keen to put a tough year behind him after back surgery and some tough results as he looked to regain his form. He will be teaming up with Bri

  • in

Australian Open champions: Winners of the men’s singles at the Australian Open.

The Australian Open has been played since 1905, and has been contested under names the Australasian Championships, The Australian Championships, and finally the Australian Open. Before settling in Melbourne for good in 1972, the tournament had swapped eve

  • in

Serena Williams – Three of her greatest Australian Open comebacks.

A character in ‘The Walking Dead’ was once described as being “like Serena Williams in an apocalypse – she ain’t going down easy.” That analogy neatly encapsulates the younger Williams sister’s incredible fight and spirit. Throughout her

  • in